In February 2021, the Atlanta Journal-Constitution reported that two new distracted driving bills have moved to the Georgia House of Representatives for review. These provisions strive to further limit serious injuries and deaths in the state resulting from device use behind the wheel.
Stay updated with the latest on House Bill 165 and House Bill 247.
House Bill 165
Currently, Georgia drivers can only affix clear stickers to their windshields. Under this bill, the state would also allow windshield mounting of cell phones and electronic devices as long as they do not block driver visibility. This measure would allow drivers to look at GPS directions without taking their eyes away from the road.
House Bill 247
Some motorists avoid a distracted driving fine for the first offense by bringing proof of purchase for a hands-free device to court. House Bill 247 will eliminate this loophole and penalize drivers for every texting and driving ticket. AJC reports that thousands of drivers used this provision in Atlanta alone in 2020.
Georgia charges $50 for the first distracted driving offense and $100 for subsequent tickets within two years. Drivers will also receive up to three points on their driving records, which can eventually result in license suspension.
Under Georgia’s 2018 Hands-Free Law, drivers may not have the phone touching any part of their bodies while operating the vehicle. They can use hands-free commands to send texts, navigate and stream music. If a motorist causes a serious auto accident while violating this law, he or she has legal liability for injuries and property damage.